Share Bucket - User Guide

Last Updated: Jun 16, 2017 08:31AM IST

Share Bucket is the most efficient way to capture, edit and share ideas and files on your Mac. This app allows you to quickly take snapshots of your screen, save/edit them and upload/share them immediately to anybody you please.

 

First Launch and Authenticating the App:

 

Upon first launching the app, you will be presented with a welcome screen that allows you to select whether you wish for the app to launch at login (recommended).

The next stage presents you with a ‘Setup cloud sharing service’ screen in order to make quick uploads to a cloud sharing service of your choice. We recommend you click on ‘Setup’ to ensure you have your app connected to a cloud sharing service you are familiar with using. 

 

You are presented with a Preferences window view where you can select a cloud sharing service (eg. Dropbox) and subsequently have to securely authenticate the app to use this service to make uploads of snaps you make for you to be able to share/store them securely. Upon clicking ‘Authenticate’, you will have to login to the cloud sharing service of your choice via the web browser window that is automatically launched. Upon logging in, you will then have to follow the instructions and the app will launch having received authentication by a cloud sharing service. You can subsequently click ‘Logout’ if you wish to remove authentication from this app.

Capturing Snapshots and Editing Them:

 

When the preferences window is open (or open it using Cmd and comma/clicking the gear icon in the bottom left corner of the app window), click on the ‘General’ tab to see the default keyboard functions to capture and annotate snapshots of your screen. You can set these keyboard shortcuts to whatever you please. You can also enable/disable popup notifications and audio alerts within the app.

To capture a snapshot with a keyboard shortcut, hit Alt + Shift + 3 on your keyboard. This captures the fullscreen view of your screen and launches this in Share Bucket. For a partial capture, use Alt + Shift + 4 and select the desired area to capture.
 

Now that you’ve grabbed a screenshot, you can annotate this easily and effectively with Share Bucket using the annotation tools seen on the top of the app window:

In the example below, some of the annotating tools have been used including the arrow tool, circle tool, text tool, blur tool, free hand tool, line tool and highlight tool. The text color has also been edited using the color selector as well as the thickness of lines can be adjusted too. 

Just as you took a screenshot to annotate it, you can also open existing files in Share Bucket in order to annotate them. Simply right-click an existing file and select ‘Open with… Share Bucket’ to have it launch and be editable in Share Bucket.


You can click on the arrows at the bottom left corner of the app window to undo (facing left)/redo (facing right) annotations you have made.

 

Sharing/Saving Content:

 

Once you have successfully edited a screen capture to your tastes, you have the option to share and save it in many ways. Click on the big blue ‘Share’ button at the bottom right corner of the app window will upload this to your cloud sharing service of choice. In the process, you will also be provided a URL link which will automatically be copied to your Mac’s clipboard so you can easily paste it anywhere you please. You can go to the Preferences menu to allow the app to shorten the URL using a Share Bucket shortened URL link.

If you wish to save the annotate image, you can edit the image name using the text bar at the bottom of the app window, and even select the file to be saved either as a .png, .jpg, .tiff or .pdf. Next, click on the arrow icon next to the ‘Share’ button on the bottom right corner and you will be presented with a range of options as follows:

From this list of options, you can easily save the image, copy it to your clipboard, mail it, message it, share it on social media and more.

 

Enhanced Features:


You can go to the Preferences menu and under the ‘Cloud’ tab, tell the app to auto upload any screenshots you take or even auto delete files you have shared after a time range selected by you. Note, these options have to be ticked for you to have them enabled.

desk@fiplab.com
http://assets1.desk.com/
fiplab
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete